I loan because…

About a month ago, I joined Kiva — an online site that connects you to aspiring entrepreneurs around the world and allows you to lend as little as $25 to help them. It’s microfinance gone global and personal.

One question they ask the loaner is: I loan because… and some of the reasons are:

  • maybe I don’t need it all. maybe I don’t need it at all –> (my personal favourite)
  • small efforts to improve the world by enough people can bring about big changes.
  • I hope it can make a difference for someone.
  • It’s fun… a start at repaying some of their friendship and hospitality
  • I wish to share what I have directly with those who are truly in need and will put to positive use for their families and communities
  • I have so much in comparison to most of the world’s population.
  • I want to help others to live a better life.
  • I’m in a position to be able to help.
  • We have been blessed with opportunity, now it’s time to share that blessing with others.
  • For a little over an hour’s worth of work, I can improve the life of an entire family. What’s not to love?

I loan because it’s the least I can do after all I have been blessed with. As someone so aptly put it, I began where a lot of people aim to finish.

What’s your reason?

Leave a Reply

