Buddha’s Pink Slip

A few weekends ago I went to the Buddha Birthday Festival here in Brisbane. One of the stalls offered a big glass bowls filled with little pink slips, each with its own predictions/wise words/poem. Mine says (in the original punctuations and grammar style):

Most wonderful is the eye that can

See boundless scenery. And so is the

lamp that can light up. Heaven and

earth. ten thousand families live

beyond dense willow trees and the

bright flowers, you knock a door any

place, someone will open it for you.

If we break it down, the following sentences emerge:

Most wonderful is the eye that can see boundless scenery, and so is the lamp that can light up heaven and earth.

Looking up, I’m afraid my boundless scenery is blocked first by my laptop screen and then my bedroom wall. If I can see through the walls, then I’ll see my bathroom. Where is my boundless scenery? Note to self: go to a poster shop and get a huge nature picture of boundless scenery.

As for my lamp, I personally think it’s the most awesome lamp in the world. It keeps me company while I’m awake, and keeps me awake when I don’t want to. Pretty powerful little lamp, I must say. But to light up heaven and earth? Man, that’s a tall order for a 20W bulb! Maybe one at a time, but definitely not both 🙂

Ten thousand families live beyond dense willow trees and the bright flowers, you knock a door any place, someone will open it for you.

As I have recently re-watched Lord of the Rings, the description fits either the Elvish wood of Lothlorien or Rivendell. But whether or not they have a population of ten thousand families will remain a mystery. Any suggestions of a similar place in our world? Then I might go there, see boundless scenery along the way, and knock on a door where the lamp of heaven and earth is kept.

Leave a Reply

