Bad Technology Week

Modern technology has not been good to me this week. After losing my internet connection due to a seemingly-harmless Microsoft update a few days ago, today I lost my cellphone/mobile/handphone connection. I woke up to a non-functioning Optus network and so far it seems I will be going to sleep with it too. I first realized mid-morning when I tried to send a text message to a friend who will be leaving this week. When it didn’t go through I thought she had cancelled her number (in preparation for her move back to Indonesia). I tried sending the message to another friend, and tried calling another friend. Both efforts failed miserably (my phone just dropped the call within two seconds after dialling the number). I knew something was up when I couldn’t even go through to the Optus customer service number (I was trying to recharge my phone because I thought maybe my credit has ran out).

I still, however, thought the problem was with my phone and not the Optus network. Early this year, when I was in NYC, my SIM card there just decided to stop working one fine day. T-Mobile, the network I was with, couldn’t figure out the problem and I was forced to buy a new SIM card 😦

I was afraid the same thing has happened again.. and was quite upset about it. If my phone is the problem (i.e. it’s messes up SIM cards for some random reason), that’d mean I’d have to buy a new one, even though I really like my current one and I only bought it in January 2008!

So, I was actually quite relieved when I found out, via the radio, that the problem was with Optus network and not with me 🙂 And it also explained why I haven’t received any love on my phone since the morning. Poeple out there still love me, they just couldn’t get through! *phew*

Oh, and apart from a network down, my own physical health is currently “down” too. Itchy throat, runny and blocked nose (go figure how that works..) and a heavy head. Bah.

Leave a Reply

