To be a spoiled brat, or not to be

A quick note before I crawl under the duvet and get my due rest.

Someone expressed his/her (I’m feeling benevolent and keeping him/her anonymous… for now) discontent at my luck of being born into my family… more specifically, a family of a certain socio-economic status.

Now let’s get one thing straight: my family is not rich. We’re not poor by any standard, but I was definitely not born with a silver spoon in my mouth. My dad’s wealth is purely enough to keep him and my mom comfortable in their old age. My sister and I (currently*) do not have a large inheritance to look forward to, and so will have to earn our own economic standing the old-fashioned way: hard work.

I do however acknowledge, and am grateful, for what my parents have afforded to give me thus far. This realization sometimes brings me and my sister to the big question: Are we spoiled?

We’ve never wanted for anything, nor was money ever a primary concern throughout our childhood and now. Well, maybe slightly problematic now, but not in the bigger homeless-starving-and-no-medical-insurance picture. We’ve gone on family holidays around the world, eaten at numerous beautiful restaurants, slept at a few wonderful hotels, held various silver and gold frequent flyer cards and attended elite expensive schools/universities.

Does that mean we’re spoiled? I’d like to think not. The mere fact that my sister and I ask ourselves this question, to me, says we’re not. Spoiled means being ungrateful of what you have, of being dissatisfied and wanting more, and of demanding what we want, when we want it,  without consideration to others. My sister and I, (would like to think that) we do not throw money everywhere at everything. We work hard to make the most out of what we’ve been blessed with. We both pass schools and universities with good (nay, great!) grades, we stick to a yearly budget (our parents send as a lump-sum our yearly living cost/allowance. it is not a low amount, but neither is it above average) — with some savings at the end of the year — and we both look forward to earning our own money to move away from our parents’.

S/he may be pissed off that she wasn’t born into a family of equal or higher socio-economic status. That’s no reason to hate me, though. I did not ask to be born as my parents’ daughter… nor do I take it for granted. Besides, even if her/his family can’t afford it, her/his government has always have given many opportunities to better him/herself. Why s/he doesn’t take them, I don’t know. I say she’s the spoiled one. And that’s real poverty: to not take full advantage of what you have been given.

This was supposed to be a quick one, by the way.

*The only reason I’m saying currently is because I can’t predict the future.. who knows, I might get lucky and get that 1-million-dollar inheritance! 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. […] I am not a spoiled brat… and No, we don’t have a money growing in our backyard (come to think of it, what […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

