Observing People Part II

Yes, I am a private student. Yes, I know it’s expensive… and yes, so were my previous schools and universities. Yes, my dad works in a bank. Yes, it’s a multinational organization. Yes, I have lived abroad most of my life. Yes, I have traveled extensively.

No, I am not a spoiled brat… and No, we don’t have a money growing in our backyard (come to think of it, what backyard? We currently live in an apartment!)

This is to those who assume that I can just pick up the phone and go “Daddyyy!! I need money!” First, because I was not brought up like that. Second, because I was not brought up like that.

I have to say that this is one of my biggest pet peeve: people stereotyping me as a rich, spoiled brat. I take that as an insult to me, and to my parents.

I realize how blessed I am, and rest assured I do not throw it away. I (ehem!) excel at my education (partly because I know just how much it’s costing my parents!) and control my budget appropriately. My parents and I always work out my allowance and living cost before sending me abroad (and it is set to the average spending pattern. No outlier here.) and they send it to me lump-sum for the whole year.

And that’s it. My parents will not send me anymore money after that. They trust me enough to send me halfway across the world, and so they trust me enough to take care of myself: health-, education-, faith- and money-wise. I never questioned it, because I agree with it. With the greater freedom and power of living alone with no parental supervision, comes greater responsibility to discipline myself (modified from Spiderman). I chose to go where I went.. and that means I choose the consequences and responsibility that come with that choice.

I am just thankful that I had a choice. A lot of people don’t.

Yes, there are those that have a choice and abuse it.

No, I am not one of them.

So there. That’s my rant for now. (I’m now going back to face my current biggest responsibility: my thesis.)

11 responses to this post.

  1. […] xfar wrote very interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rumayya on October 22, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    “First, because I was not brought up like that. Second, because I was not brought up like that.”

    and third…???

    😛

    Reply

  3. Posted by asti on October 22, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Third: See First and Second 🙂

    Reply

  4. “I (ehem!) excel at my education (partly because I know just how much it’s costing my parents!)”
    –> great.. now I feel bad for not finishing my thesis on time… *sigh*

    ah, and, I ENVY YOU. I’ve been practically around the world as well (not to sound snob-ish, I have a point-) but I was only like 5? back then. So all the memory I have of it was based on my dad’s video recording. so yeah, N.V.U cuz I take that you still remember all the traveling you did.

    so Asti, nice to know you, and…lets go back to finishing our thesis, shall we? XP

    Reply

  5. Yes, I know it’s expensive… and yes, so were my previous schools and universities. Yes, my dad works in a bank. Yes, it’s a multinational organization. Yes, I have lived abroad most of my life. Yes, I have traveled extensively. –> well, I would say, those who arent thinking that you are rich, are those who left their brain in their backyard…hahahaha. Nice post….
    i’ll link u in my brogroll

    Reply

  6. Posted by asti on October 26, 2008 at 9:39 am

    @yoanitya: Don’t worry about the thesis, I’m still struggling with mine too hahaha And I’ve only got one week left 😦 *pulling out hair in frustration*

    Wow, you started your travelling early! I remember most of it, but there are early travels (when I was about 5 years old too) that I can’t remember. Here’s to more travels that we can remember!

    @akhyaree: Well, I didn’t mention that over half of my tuition fee is paid by my dad’s company. Otherwise, we wouldn’t be able to afford it either hehehe So no, not *that* rich 🙂 Plus, I don’t mind if people assume I’m rich.. it’s the “spoiled brat” part that annoys me!

    Thanks! I’ll link you back!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Selalu Wina on October 26, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    haHa (nelson from the Simpson laugh).. I know the “incident” that triggered this post! I’m gonna teeeelllll!!! Kidding lah ti..

    Yeah.. I know how you feel! and you know what just today someone gave me just-pick-up-the-phone-and-call-your-parents attitude! But growing up in the culture that “worship” status, wealth, and all that glitters, I have to grow a thick skin. In other words, I don’t care what everyone think now. Let them think what they want to think because the matter of the fact is my responsibility is to my parents.

    Reply

  8. Posted by asti on October 26, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Nooooo, don’t tell laaahh.. Uni is almost over, so let us all part in peace hehehe

    Sorry to hear you’ve had the same thing happened to you too.. I guess we really are twins, lol! What did you say back to them? I need to prepare a list of possible replies to such attitude… I got a feeling I’ll get a lot more of those when I go back to Jakarta.

    A: “Dad? Please. He doesn’t care. He’s too busy working. I’ll just call my personal bank manager.” (bonus point: play the “abandoned, under-loved” card too!)

    B: “I don’t do cash. Do you take card?” *whip out Platinum American Express, or equivalently elitist credit card*

    C: “Just tell the salesperson/bank teller/cashier/etc my name. They’ll know what to do.”

    Reply

  9. Posted by Selalu Wina on October 26, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    or D: All of the above! hehe yeah usually i’ll messed up their head by saying more outrageous thing coz sometimes they’re just asking for it (does that mean i’m taking their bait??) or just let it by gone.. like I said don’t care..

    Reply

  10. Posted by yonna on January 20, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I’ve read about that spoil brat article and this one.

    Interesting….a view from the-have-girl-stamped-by-the-have-not people 😆

    I judge people from what they have inside a.k.a personality traits. Does s/he the one who will make me feel accepted and comfortable, will respect and appreciate her/him surroundings or not?! Does s/he the one who will tease my brain and my soul to learn and to be better? Does s/he the one with great achievements in life and able to motivate and inspire me?!

    Well….here me saying this just to tell you that I’m not one of those timid and envy people who can’t see through yourself 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by asti on January 21, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Hahaha! I never thought about it that way.. I guess everyone — rich or poor, educated or uneducated — has his/her own prejudices.

    I like your way of judging people, and very much agree with it! Here’s to meeting more people like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

