My Christmas Wish List

I don’t actually celebrate Christmas itself, but I do enjoy the extra holiday! And any excuse to make a wish list si fine with me… So here it goes, in no particular order.

1. An iMac. Simply because they’re just pretty. And also because I’m tired of sneaking my Dad’s laptop away from his “office,” and then having him knock on my door asking for it back. And I need to get away from the habit of surfing/blogging/etc from my bed.. it’s too comfy, and just leads me staying in bed all day. At least having a desktop instead of a laptop will force me to get out of bed :p

2. That pair of oh-so-gorgeous Christian Louboutin shoes, that cost my monthly salary and a bit lot more… *sigh* I think the salesperson knows me already as “that scruffy girl who comes in, looks at it, and then walks out.”

3. A pay raise (see 2).

4. A holiday. Damn you “no-vacation-leave-until-one-year-of-service” rule!!!

5. My sis to come home for the vacation πŸ™‚

6. For Monday to never come, and for this 3-day-weekend to last forever…

7. I want suggestions of things to do/places to visit within a 2-hours-drive radius of Jakarta, i.e. similar to Bandung distance-wise. See, my office has this “weekend duty” program where at least two people per department has to be within the Jakarta vicinity in case of emergency. Since everyone else is on holiday for the next 2 weeks or so, and I’m not (see #4), I’ve been one of the designated “weekend duty” personnel *sigh* So trips to Bali, Lampung, Yogyakarta, etc are out of the question (and forget about trips abroad!). Thus, the need for things within Jakarta’s 2-hours’-drive radius.. Anyone??

8. Books! Why are books so damn expensive in Jakarta? They’re double the prices elsewhere!

9. Philippines dried mangoes.. Yum. I’ve finished my stock, and looking for the next shipment. They’re my drug of choice.

10. World peace.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Asti, if u want to read books (English books that is!), go to Limma bookstore (http://www.limma.co.id/). You can borrow books from there! I’ve been doing it since high school… it’s in Kemang and located in a residential house. But I like the books that they have there. You definitely should check it out πŸ˜‰

    And you should definitely check http://www.betterworldbooks.com/ out! Forget about amazon, seriously! Betterworldbooks only costs you 3.49 dollars for shipping to anywhere in the world! And many books (with the exception of new books, of course) have second hand prices… so u should def check them out πŸ˜‰ Eh tapi gw ga tau soal tax ya… (klo ngirim sesuatu kan biasanya di charge tax kan pas masuk indo)

    Is puncak in a 2-hour radius (kalo bandung iya, berarti puncak iya donk ya hahhaa)? Kayanya Puncak jd tempat fav gw, my only quick escape from Jakarta. nyokap gw pernah nawarin ke nyokap loe bs pake villa keluarga gw loh ti… so perhaps you can do that and relax there πŸ˜‰ and when you’re bored staying in a villa, then u can go to cibodas or smtg like that πŸ˜‰

    salam bwat ortu loe ya… hope you get a pay raise soon hahaha… booooo kapan ke europe nihhhhh gw dah capek menunggu dirimu hahahhaha…

    Reply

    • Posted by asti on January 23, 2010 at 2:20 am

      Amel, thanks for the suggestions! the Limma bookstores sounds interesting, will check them out when I’m heading to that area (since Kemang is quite far from Rawamangun, as I’ve discovered hehehe). Right now my book-buying scheme is to either wait for my next stop over in changi, or ask someone coming from uk/manila/etc to get me some. I’ve never actually bought anything over the internet here, as I’ve heard a few e-businesses bar online purchases from Indo due to the high number of identity fraud.. apparently Indo is in the “black list” of e-commerce :p

      Thanks for the puncak villa offer! mite actually take you up on it one of these days.. But I’m slowly discovering Jakarta beyond the usual mall/cafes, and it’s been fun.. I’m learning to be a tourist within my own country, and discovering like-minded people along the way.

      Iya nih, belum ada chance (or money) for a european visit… that pay raise can’t come soon enough! though currently planning a trip to Nepal with a work colleague this may. Interested? πŸ˜€

      Reply

  2. 8. true!! so true! whenever i get the chance to go abroad my suitcase is always filled with books. and whenever relatives from overseas come home to visit, their suitcases are also filled with books I’ve ordered… πŸ˜›

    9. me.want.some…. heaven… why hasn’t anyone made them here??

    Reply

    • Posted by asti on January 23, 2010 at 2:22 am

      8. Gimme a shout when one of these relatives are coming over, yeah? :p

      9. not that i know of! but my friend’s dad said something about bogor or “ci-something” (you know, all those places in java whose name starts with “ci”…) that has something similar to it.. though she said it’s not as good

      Reply

  3. “2-hours-drive radius” is kinda hard. But if you could afford another 3 hours, you could drive to Tanjung Lesung. Or, should we wait til Amel got here? πŸ˜€

    Btw, if you could afford 5 days, you might wanna join these guys on Feb.. *ditimpuk* : http://tr.im/MfGf

    Reply

    • Posted by asti on February 8, 2010 at 12:11 am

      yeee, minta *ditimpuk* bener yaaa.. minta 2-hours drive radius, dikasihnya yg 5-hours drive or even worse 7-hours flight! (huu mau bgt tuuuh.. tp ada dua conditions needed to make it a reality: some advance leave days & a pay raise!)

      see Mel, you’ve to come back now.. we’ve got a road trip planned already πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

