January: NYR #1 (Travel More)

OK, I previously wrote about my bite-sized 2011 New Year’s Resolution, and in the true spirit of the school-addict that I am, I’m making myself a report card! OK, maybe not a report card, but more of a progress report. The report card will come in at the end of the year when we rack up all 12 progress reports. And let’s just skip the parent-teacher discussion… that is one part of school I am glad to not re-live.

So, without further ado, progress report numero uno is here.

To kick off the year, I chose to tackle NYR #1. Travel more. As you (yes, you, my sole reader) already know by now, I am, by default, in travel-mode.. until recently that is, when I moved back to the motherland about 1.5 years ago (sh*t! that long already?). I discovered that being monogamous to a location (location fidelity?) is not my strong forte, and I do need to take a break (pun intended) every now and then to maintain the relationship.

January, travel-wise, was perfect! I started the year, exactly on 1-1-11, by diving in Weh Island, on the northern tip of Sumatra. It was the culmination of a 5-day road trip from Padang to Sabang that started in the last week of December 2010. Traveling and diving on the start of the year, it was the perfect way to start 2011. A+ for me!

The weekend after that, I went rafting with my friends to Citatih, Sukabumi (where I lost my sandals and my glasses when my raft flipped over, resulting in me walking back to the camp barefoot and blind as a bat.. but that’s another story!).

Then the weekend after that I stayed at home.. But from 22-29 Jan, I went to an amazing trip to India and Singapore to attend my friend’s wedding. OK, Singapore was Singapore, but India was truly awesome. Attended a proper 4-day Indian wedding (with good friends from all over the world), learnt both Indian and German dances, ate great food, shopped to my heart’s content, and I even got to wear a sari! What more could a girl ask for? ๐Ÿ˜€

So, yes, January was just marvelous. February, not so much.

However, as this a resolution for the entire year, it should be sustainable even though I may start it in any month within the year. Thus, while February wasn’t the greatest travel-wise, I do need to maintain my NYR #1 for the other months. Ladies and gentlemen, my travel plan in the short term is as below (unless otherwise mentioned, the places are in Indonesia):

Jan: Banda Aceh, Sabang, Sukabumi, Singapore (Singapore), Chennai (India)

Feb: — ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

March: Belitung and/or Palu

April: KL (Malaysia), Mumbai (India)

May: Bangkok (Thailand), Yangon (Myanmar)

December (?): Middle East

Fingers crossed, I can at least meet, or even exceed, this travel plan. Travel suggestions (and travel buddies!) are always welcomed! ๐Ÿ˜€ There are at least 6 months that still needs to be filled, so bring it on!

In full recognition that the January progress report is written in the last wee hours of February, I think I need to start working on NYR #2 ๐Ÿ˜‰

*In the spirit of full disclosure, I need to confess something. As you may have noticed, I wrote the post on NYR in February.. so I actually already had this NYR in mind (and the fact that I already accomplished it) when I wrote down the list . But, it’s also true that I did think about NYR #1 in mind by 1 Jan 2011. See NYR #2 as to why I only officially wrote it down when I did. So sue me. My blog, my resolutions, my rules ๐Ÿ™‚

*Pictures to follow soon. I’m trying to post this within the week of 21-27 February to meet my postaweek challenge. So, publish!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yay! Middle East ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

