My Real Age vs. the Age I Feel

My first Plinky answer, and it is an easy one for me.

Do I feel younger or older than I really am, you ask? I answer with much glee and happiness (and my parents and extended family will answer this with big roll-of-the-eyes and sighs-of disapproval): younger!

I skip across town. I jump and clap my hands like a drunk penguin when I’m really happy. I get easily amused by the little things. I laugh to my heart’s content. (Needless to say, huge Toys ‘R Us megastores (or any toy stores) are one of my favorite places on earth). Pictures of me will always involve running, jumping, or at the very least, a huge idiotic grin on my face. I get *really* giddy, so easily. As in, really. I eat my ice cream in a cone (which I recently discovered is very “retro”). Plus ice cream van music is one of the best sounds in the world. If I weren’t so technologically-challenged, I’d have that as my ring tone. Seriously.

Don’t get me wrong — I do enjoy discussions on religions, philosophy and other “heavier” topics over dinner or a cup of coffee. And I am, so-they-say, well-educated. And the years of travelling and moving does provide me with some street-smart-ness (?) most people don’t think I have.

But, what I have also learnt through my formal and informal education is that happiness is truly an active state of being, not a passive one. Like the title of the movie, it has to be pursued. And so when I am happy, I express it. Loud laughters and all. (Now guess why golf, with all its “hush” and “silence please”, is not a favorite sport of mine). And I try to seek that happiness everyday, down to the smallest things. I try to avoid taking things for granted and at least try to see something new or different about it. Because if there’s one thing that travelling taught me, with all the bad and good side of it, is that you can always find beauty anywhere… you just have to look for it. Bad traffic, bad food, bad people, bad accommodation — these will always be there, just as much as the good traffic, good food, good people, good accommodation will always be there too. I just have to look harder, and see the lighter side. At the very least, “bad” travel experiences make “good” travel stories.

The grass may always be greener on the other side, but until you get there, you have to learn to love the greenness in yours.

Powered by Plinky

3 responses to this post.

  1. Plinky! Haha maybe I should try that out lol.

    Well, that’s what I love about you, Asti! Always happy and laughing like nothing can stop you… like there’s nothing in this world that worries you! Hehehe. Don’t change 😉

    The second last paragraph reminds me of this poem of Rumi:

    Walk patiently through this troubled world, and you will find great treasure. Even though your house may be small, look within it!

    🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by asti on March 27, 2011 at 6:47 pm

      Yes, you should! While I don’t actually write about it, the questions are enough to kick-start my brain during the day.

      Thanks, mel! For some people, it’s a reason to *not* love me. But, ah well.. As the genius Dr. Seuss said, “Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind” 😀 I think the world could always do with a lil bit more laughter and happiness, no?

      …and yes, Rumi always says it better!

      Reply

  2. […] But then, I will be lying. Big time. I mean, you already know my philosophy on “acting my age.” […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

