Friday Night: Waiting for Dad

Map of Afghanistan with flag.

Afghanistan Map & Flag (Image via Wikipedia)

Staying at home may not be the coolest thing to do on a Friday night for a 20-something girl like yours truly, but that is exactly what I’m doing.

All in the name of waiting for my beloved Dad.

If it’s any of his normal business trips, then I probably would still consider going out. But this time, he’s coming back from Afghanistan. So I think that deserves a special exception. While it’s not actually his first trip there (it’s probably his 4th, and he’ll probably be going back again sometime in the near future), this time is slightly different.

My Dad, in brushing my fear away about Kabul, kept saying that Kabul is safe and that the fightings/attacks occur in the provinces, away from Kabul. Also, he spends most of his time in the apparently-very-safe compound, and he only goes out to the “expat-approved” venues that have uber-tight securities. Yet, about 3 days ago, the Intercon Hotel in Kabul was attacked by gunmen and suicide bombers. And I assume such a prominently-Western hotel will be one of those “expat-approved” venues.

So yes, I worry. And I pray. And now I wait.

Going through this, I cannot even begin to  imagine what it must be like for all the families of those military personnels out there.. in Afghanistan, and all other conflict areas. At least I am slightly comforted by the fact that my dad is a lecturer who spends his day in the office/classroom, and not out there on the actual front line. Plus, his “tour of duty” lasts for about 2 weeks, not 2 months or 2 years.

So I expand my prayers for all those affected by the wars: the military personnels, the other expats there, the families left behind … and of course, all the Afghanis who have lived their lives in what seems like a perpetual war cycle.

“If we don’t end war, war will end us.” — H.G. Wells

4 responses to this post.

  1. hope he comes back safely!

    Reply

    • Thank you! And yes he did, thank God 🙂

      Just found out that he was actually there in the Intercon Hotel during the day for a workshop… (it was attacked at 10pm) *shudders*

      Reply

  2. shocking. hopefully he doesn’t have to go back any time soon!

    Reply

  3. Oh God I didn’t know your dad still travels to Afghanistan!!! Yes, hopefully he doesn’t need to back there soon..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

