Why I Don’t Blog

It’s been over a month since my last blog post. And even the previous ones were quick and easy Weekly Photo Challenge ones. As much as I enjoyed thinking about the week’s topic and searching for that perfect picture, it felt like I was cheating and taking the easy way out on my postaweek goal (NYR #11). Plus, as multi-talented I am, it’s not like those pictures were the product of multiple shutter/aperture/lighting/whatsitsface adjustments plus hours of tweaking on photoshop. Nope, I’m sorry to disappoint you all, but my greatness means that simple adjustment of flash-or-not and sunny-cloudy-indoor-night settings are all it took to produce all of my amazing Weekly Photo Challenge pictures. Ha!

I wish I can say that trekking in Machu Picchu, diving in Raja Ampat, and climbing Mount Kilimanjaro were the reasons for my non-blogging days. But I’m not that awesome.

Simple truth is that my lazy side has taken over my life. I’ve fallen into a rut, as the cliche goes. My daily routine of work, home, movies and lunch/coffee with friends & family has somehow filled up all my hours. And once you’ve missed one week of blogging or one Weekly Photo Challenge, it made it that much easier to skip the next one, then the one after that, and so on. It felt like so much work to catch up with past blobligation, and thus much easier to just continue with the usual routine of life.

My mind was actually still in that writer’s mode through all this time — red flags come up when conversations with friends/families seems blog-worthy, thinking about how I would write about the DailyPost topic, or thinking about pictures to meet the Weekly Photo Challenge theme. I just never actually acted on it.

Because, the second truth is that writing is hard for me. I am the least creative person I know, and so throughout my formal education years I’ve stayed true to my forte of logic, science and black-and-white answers. The extent of my writing years is limited to my lab reports… and various failed attempts at blogging. With blogging, half the time I don’t know what to write about (thus, many thanks to the DailyPost/Weekly Photo Challenge team).. and the other half, I don’t know how to write. Plus, while I am an extrovert in the sense that I can easily mingle with people and talk about the logic/black-and-white stuff, I am more guarded when it comes to the grey matter, to my personal side. And writing, as it is way out of my comfort zone, is something very personal. So when I do, it still is a challenge — and a bit of an adrenaline rush — when I click “publish”. And more adrenaline rush as I wait for any comments.

Then, why am I writing again now? Because I do miss that adrenaline rush. Of putting myself, and my writing, out there. So here goes nothing.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Happens to the best of us. You probably just needed a recharge. Now you’ll rock that blog out!

    Reply

  2. Few more months til our ME trip! wohooo!

    Reply

    • Yay!! As it’s getting closer to D-day, we should actually start planning the itinerary no? :p Will send you a separate email.

      Reply

  3. I never thought of it that way, well put!

    Reply

  4. I would like to thank you for the efforts youve got produced in writing this article. I am hoping the same finest operate from you inside the potential also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to start my personal BlogEngine weblog now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

